Southern Crescent Technical College

33 Students Selected as SCTC GOAL Nominees

33 GOAL Nominees

Southern Crescent Technical College recently announced the nomination of 33 students for the 2018 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) at a reception held October 18, 2017. The annual GOAL program recognizes students who possess excellence in leadership and ability.

"The purpose of the GOAL program," said Dr. Jasper Foust, GOAL Coordinator, "is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia's technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce." The local GOAL winner will speak on behalf of Southern Crescent Technical College to promote technical education throughout the community and state.

A screening committee at Southern Crescent Technical College will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students. Finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the Southern Crescent Technical College GOAL winner for 2018.

The finalists will take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by representatives from local business and industry. That panel will consider the students’ qualities including academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional preliminary judging; then three from each region, which will make up the nine finalists, will attend competition for the state GOAL award and selection as the Technical College System of Georgia’s 2018 student of the year where they will have the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system.

Chosen for recognition by their instructors, the nominees from Southern Crescent Technical College include:


Name                               Program                                        Nominating Instructor

Kirstie Aderhold            Radiologic Technology              Dana Breeser

Morgan Ammons           Radiologic Technology              Tiffany Whitley

Ana Anderson               Practical Nursing                       Kimberly Register

Norma Cline                  Business Technology                Kim Yevak

Kerry Cobb                   Radiologic Technology              Tiffany Whitley

Shawn Danforth            Associate of Science Nursing    Veronica Taylor

Daniel German              Practical Nursing                       Kimberly Register

Amanda Gooden           Industrial Systems Technology   Johnny Dodson

Betty Green                   Practical Nursing                       Kimberly Register

Jamie Harper                 Business Management               Christi Ellington

Jeenann Hendon           Business Technology                Kim Yevak

Rechard Hile                 Air Conditioning Technology      Ricky Henson

Stephanie Hill                Medical Assisting                      Diana Kendrick

Brittany Huffman           Medical Assisting                      Diana Kendrick

Gerald Lamar                Air Conditioning Technology      Ricky Henson

Morgan Lynch               Early Childhood Care                 James Peas

Christina McKissick       Associate of Science Nursing    John Hurst

Elizabeth Murray            Air Conditioning Technology      Tony Martin

Chanel Nicholson          Associate of Science Nursing    Veronica Taylor

Kimberly O’Neal Radiologic Technology              Lynn Futral

Ai'Jona Perry                Paralegal Studies                      Lynn Futral

Ashley Polk                  Associate of Science Nursing    Veronica Taylor

Amy Puckett                 Radiologic Technology              Dana Breeser

Cassandra Richards      Medical Assisting                      Mettie Hogan

Antonio Saunders          Associate of Nursing                 Veronica Taylor

Timothy Shafer              Associate of Nursing                 John Hurst

Quavala Sheppard         Culinary Arts                             Patrick Boutier

Alicia Stephens             Medical Assisting                      Mettie Hogan

Michael Stewart             Culinary Arts                             Barry Levey

Robert Turner                Air Conditioning Technology      Tony Martin

Fred Williams               Air Conditioning Technology      Tony Martin

Kevin Williams               Industrial Systems Technology   Johnny Dodson

Shannon Wright             Culinary Arts                             Carolyn K. Fludd