Southern Crescent Technical College

Finalists Named For Rick Perkins Award

Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction Finalists: Mark Avery, Rasheeda McNeal, SCTC President Dr. Alvetta Thomas, Brittany Varga, Billy Elliott ,Jr.

Southern Crescent Technical College is pleased to announce that the following instructors have been chosen as finalists for the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical instruction. The Rick Perkins Award is the equivalent to being named Instructor of the Year at Southern Crescent Technical College.

Mark Avery – Computer Information Systems

Billy Elliott, Jr. – Plumbing and Pipefitting Technology

Rasheeda McNeal – Pharmacy Technology

Brittany Varga – English

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical instruction is awarded annually and is designed to recognize and honor technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. Instructors are nominated for the Rick Perkins Award by their peers and competition among instructors occurs at the college, regional, and state levels.

Dr. Alvetta Thomas, President of Southern Crescent Technical College, continued, “We are thrilled to have these instructors named as finalists for the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction. They represent the best of the best at the College and we are proud of their dedication to building strong students, strong careers, and strong communities.”

In order to name the College winner, these finalists will be judged by a group of outside individuals. After winning the school title, the winner will represent Southern Crescent Technical College as a state wide ambassador for technical education. The state Rick Perkins Award winner will be announced in April.