Southern Crescent Technical College

Southern Crescent Technical College Announces GOAL Final Four

4 Goal Finalists
Pictured L to R: Michael Stewart, Chanel Nicholson, Rechard Hile, and Morgan Ammons

Four students from Southern Crescent Technical College have been selected as local finalists for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), according to Dr. Jasper Foust, coordinator for the local GOAL program. These students were announced Tuesday afternoon, November 14, 2017, at a GOAL Recognition Reception held during the Thomaston – Upson County Rotary Club Meeting in Thomaston, Georgia.

Chosen as finalists are: Morgan Ammons – Radiologic Technology, Rechard Hile – Air Conditioning Technology, Chanel Nicholson – Paramedicine, and Michael Stewart – Culinary Arts.

The Technical College System of Georgia sponsors the GOAL program statewide. Locally, GOAL is sponsored by the Griffin-Spalding Chamber of Commerce, the Griffin Exchange Club, the Griffin Area Employer Committee, and the SCTC Student Government Association and coordinated by officials from Southern Crescent Technical College.

“The GOAL program,” said Foust, “seeks to spotlight the importance of technical education in today’s world and to recognize outstanding achievement by students in our state’s technical colleges.”

According to Foust, the Screening Committee of administrators at Southern Crescent Technical College selected the four finalists from 33 students who were nominated for this recognition by their instructors. Prior to being named as a finalist, these students completed an extensive interview process to prepare them for the state competition to be held in April.

“A Selection Committee of individuals from outside the school will now interview and evaluate these four students, “ explained Foust “and the one judged most outstanding will compete with representatives from Georgia’s other technical colleges for the 2018 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership medallion.”

The student, who is selected as the State GOAL Winner by demonstrating excellence in leadership, will receive the grand prize of a new automobile.