Current Students


2019 Rick Perkins Award Winner

Kimberly Register

Ms. Kimberly Register is the winner of SCTC's 2018 Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Education. She is the Department Chair for Allied Health, as well as the Practical Nursing Program Coordinator and a Nursing Instructor.

About the Rick Perkins Award

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors the Technical College System of Georgia’s most outstanding instructors. The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the award was renamed in honor and memory of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Georgia Technical College, formerly known as West Central Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death. The Technical College System of Georgia provides oversight for the Rick Perkins Award program through the system’s office, the college presidents’ Academic Affairs Committee and the state planning committee.

Partnering with Business and Industry
The Rick Perkins Award is a true partnership between business, industry and education. Technical colleges work in partnership with local business, industry and community groups to sponsor the Rick Perkins Award activities at the college and regional levels.
Rick Perkins Award Judges
The judges are distinguished men and women from the world of business, industry and public service. Many have judged the award before and are delighted to come back again.
Rick Perkins Award Competition Overview
The award competition begins early in the year. Technical colleges across Georgia identify their most talented instructors and nominate them for the award based on innovative instruction, educational achievement and college and community leadership. To become the state Rick Perkins Award winner, nominees go through three phases of selection: (1) at the college level through the Screening Committee; (2) at the regional level through the Selection Committee; and (3) at the state level competition.
State Rick Perkins Award Winner
The state winner will carry the title of Technical College System of Georgia’s Instructor of the Year and serves as the state’s ambassador for technical education. The winner exemplifies excellence and a commitment to the mission of the Technical College System of Georgia and makes many public appearances throughout the year, including addresses to the Georgia General Assembly, the governor and the TCSG Leadership Conference, to name a few. A $1000 grand prize is also presented to the deserving award winner.