Commercial Truck Driving (Certificate)
The Commercial Truck Driving certificate program provides basic training in the principles and skills of commercial truck operations. The program is based on the definition of a truck driver as one who operates a commercial motor vehicle of all different sizes and descriptions on all types of roads. At the completion of the program, the student is administered the Georgia CDL Skills exam.
- Location: Flint River Campus, Butts Center, Jasper Center
- Major Code: CT61
- Award Level: TCC
- Program Entrance Term: Fall, Spring, Summer
- Minimum Length of Program: 1 Terms
- Minimum Credit Hours for Graduation: 9
- Submit completed application and application fee
- Be at least 18 years of age
- High school diploma or GED are NOT required
- Meet assessment requirements
- Seven year MVR
Driving History Report
A seven year MVR report with no more than six points in the last three years, no more than four moving violations in the last three years, and have no DUI, open container, or possession of an illegal substance in the last seven years. If convicted of a felony within the last ten years, student must be interviewed by the program coordinator. (A felony may affect licensure and/or employment options.)
Program Admission Requirements
- Must pass USDOT Physical and Drug Screen (five-panel) and alcohol test. Physical is required before you obtain your class AP license at D.D.S. Drug screen will be done on the first day of class.
- Must be 18 years old to operate in the state of Georgia (21 to operate nationally)
- Must have valid Georgia Driver's License and Class A Combination Vehicle Learner's Permit.
- All above items must be turned into the Program Coordinator on the first day of class.
A commercial driving disqualification is imposed when a licensee is convicted of two or more serious traffic offenses within a three-year period. A first disqualification is for 60 days and a second or subsequent disqualification is for 120 days per code O.C.G.A. 40-5-151(f) (1).
A "serious traffic violation" includes any of the following offenses when committed while operating a commercial motor vehicle or a non-commercial motor vehicle per code O.C.G.A. 40-5-142(22).
- Speeding 15 or more miles per hour above the posted speed limit
- Reckless driving, as defined under state and local law
- Following another vehicle too closely, as defined under state or local law
- Improper or erratic lane change
- Any violation relating to motor vehicle traffic control that involves a fatal crash
- A railroad grade crossing violation as defined under state law or local ordinance
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without obtaining a commercial driver's license
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a valid commercial driver's license in the driver's immediate possession, or
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a commercial driver's license of the proper class and/or endorsements for the specific vehicle being operated or for the passengers or type of cargo transported
Georgia law provides that a commercial driving disqualification must be imposed even if the licensee does not hold a commercial driver's license. This has no impact upon a citizen's non-commercial driving privilege but merely prevents him or her from obtaining a commercial driver's license during the period of disqualification.
The following is a suggested path to complete this program in a timely manner. An individual's path to completion may be different based on institutional and personal factors affecting his/her academic progress.
Note: While all courses are offered, they may vary by term and campus. See the program advisor for any questions.
|CTDL 1010||Fundamentals of Commercial Driving (Required)||3|
|CTDL 1020||Combination Vehicle Basic Operation and Range Work (Required)||2|
|CTDL 1030||Combination Vehicle Adv. Operations (Required)||4|
Career and Academic Planning