13 Students Selected as GOAL Nominees

Date Posted: November 5, 2023

Southern Crescent Technical College recently announced the nomination of 13 students for the 2024 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) at a reception held October 23, 2023 on the Griffin Campus.  The annual GOAL program recognizes students who possess excellence in leadership and ability.

“The purpose of the GOAL program,” said Ms. Cherryl Burks, GOAL Coordinator, “is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia’s technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce.”  The local GOAL winner will speak on behalf of Southern Crescent Technical College to promote technical education throughout the community and state.

A screening committee at Southern Crescent Technical College will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students.  Finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the Southern Crescent Technical College GOAL winner for 2024.

The finalists will take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by representatives from local business and industry. That panel will consider the students’ qualities including academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional preliminary judging; then three from each region, which will make up the nine finalists, will attend competition for the state GOAL award and selection as the Technical College System of Georgia’s 2024 Student of the Year where they will have the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire Technical College System of Georgia.

Chosen for recognition by their instructors, the nominees from Southern Crescent Technical College include:

Emma Aldridge Forensic Science Julie Gates
Victoria Beach Associate of Science Nursing Amy Adams
Amber Califf Medical Assisting Christy Smith
Tiara Chappell Medical Assisting Mettie Hogan
Jerusha Chung Associate of Science Nursing Gayla Love
Annalee Clinton Associate of Science Nursing Gayla Love
Ashley Dodson Forensic Science Julie Gates
Savannah Hulings Medical Assisting Sandra Fender
Valarie Mahabeer Business Technology Karla Weaver
Daven Oneill Welding & Joining Technology Wesley Barron
Savannah Payton Associate of Science Nursing Amy Adams
Kierra Rutledge Associate of Science Nursing Dr. Chibuzor Nwankwo
McKinley Thompson Welding & Joining Technology Wesley Barron