19 Students Selected as GOAL Nominees

Date Posted: October 14, 2022

Front Row (L-R): Laura Das Neves, SCTC President Dr. Irvin Clark, Lauren Roberts
2nd row: Nina Jennings, Lindsay Gross, April Jett
3rd row: Christopher Williamson, Jacob Johnston, Monique Moon, Rachel Carpenter, Stella Ferguson
4th row: Calista Schmitt, S. Savannah Turner, Vicky Davis
Back row: Mark Deleon, Danelle Ferguson, Trinity Motley, Madeline Combs
Not pictured: Rhondalynn Traylor


Southern Crescent Technical College recently announced the nomination of 19 students for the 2023 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) at a reception held October 10, 2022 on the Griffin Campus.  The annual GOAL program recognizes students who possess excellence in leadership and ability.

“The purpose of the GOAL program,” said Ms. Cherryl Burks, GOAL Coordinator, “is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia’s technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce.”  The local GOAL winner will speak on behalf of Southern Crescent Technical College to promote technical education throughout the community and state.

A screening committee at Southern Crescent Technical College will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students.  Finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the Southern Crescent Technical College GOAL winner for 2023.

The finalists will take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by representatives from local business and industry. That panel will consider the students’ qualities including academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional preliminary judging; then three from each region, which will make up the nine finalists, will attend competition for the state GOAL award and selection as the Technical College System of Georgia’s 2023 student of the year where they will have the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system.

Chosen for recognition by their instructors, the nominees from Southern Crescent Technical College include:


Rachel Carpenter Associate of Science Nursing Stephanie Rogers
Madeline Combs Culinary Arts Patrick Boutier
Vicky Davis Culinary Arts Carolyn Fludd
Mark Deleon Radiologic Technology Candis Prewitt
Danelle Ferguson Radiologic Technology Dana Breeser
Stella Ferguson Medical Assisting Sandra Fender
Lindsay Gross Medical Assisting Christy Allen
Nina Jennings Associate of Science Nursing Stephanie Rogers
Jacob Johnston Associate of Science Nursing Stephanie Rogers
April Jett Business Management Frank Amaro
Monique Moon Culinary Arts Patrick Boutier
Trinity Moses Forensic Science Julie Gates
Laura Das Neves Associate of Science Nursing Gayla Love
Lauren Roberts Medical Assisting Mettie Hogan
Calista Schmitt Radiologic Technology Dana Breeser
Rhondalynn Traylor Healthcare Management Christy Allen
S. Savannah Turner Radiologic Technology Candis Prewitt
Christopher Williamson Associate of Science Nursing Gayla Love