30 Students Selected as GOAL Nominees

Date Posted: October 14, 2021

Southern Crescent Technical College recently announced the nomination of 30 students for the 2022 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL).  The annual GOAL program recognizes students who possess excellence in leadership and ability.

“The purpose of the GOAL program,” said Ms. Cherryl Burks, GOAL Coordinator, “is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia’s technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce.”  The local GOAL winner will speak on behalf of Southern Crescent Technical College to promote technical education throughout the community and state.

A screening committee at Southern Crescent Technical College will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students.  Finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the Southern Crescent Technical College GOAL winner for 2022.

The finalists will take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by representatives from local business and industry. That panel will consider the students’ qualities including academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional preliminary judging; then three from each region, which will make up the nine finalists, will attend competition for the state GOAL award and selection as the Technical College System of Georgia’s 2022 student of the year where they will have the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system.

Chosen for recognition by their instructors, the nominees from Southern Crescent Technical College include:


Name                                       Nominating Instructor    Program                       County

Treyvon Clark                           Susan Allen                  Cosmetology                 Butts

Morgan Morris                           Charles Cash                Website Design             Butts

Maudie Brown                           Christy Allen                 Medical Assisting          Clayton

Mary Castaneda                        Sandra Fender              Medical Assisting          Clayton

India Conde                              James Peas                  Early Childhood             Clayton

Yanis Todd                               Miling Belvin                 Medical Assisting          Clayton

Skylar Dossett                           Susan Allen                  Cosmetology                 Coweta

Letha Moses                             Christy Coker                Orthopedic Technology  DeKalb

Heidi Bolton                              Janice Bush                  Cardiovascular              Fayette

Sumara Sims                            Mettie Hogan                Medical Assisting          Fayette

Madison Bradford                      James Anderson           Paramedicine                Henry

Ansley Burell                             Janice Bush                  Cardiovascular              Henry

Hannah Campbell                     Pierre Dolcine               Radiologic Technology  Henry

Amanda Graham                       Mettie Hogan                Medical Assisting          Henry

Shianna Harris                          Sandra Fender              Medical Assisting          Henry

Shamya Johnson                      Patrick Boutier              Culinary Arts                 Henry

Rebecca Royals                        Dana Breeser               Radiologic Technology Henry

Hannah Staley                          Dana Breeser               Radiologic Technology  Henry

Steven Tillman                          Edward Boronkas          Diesel Equipment Tech  Jasper

Dallin Reeve                             Tommy Woodall            Electrical Systems         Meriwether

Callie Dufresne                         Lacy Worthy                 Practical Nursing           Pike

Aspen Littlejohn                        Susan Allen                  Cosmetology                 Pike

Ally Payne                                Dana Breeser               Radiologic Technology  Pike

LaWanda Clarke                       Miling Belvin                 Medical Assisting          Spalding

Ericka Moye                              Debra King                   Interdisciplinary Studies Spalding

Jyonna Miller                            Robert Hires                 Phlebotomy                  Spalding

Ai’Jona Perry                            Julie Gates                   Forensic Science          Spalding

Andrew Sherman                      Edward Boronkas          Diesel Equipment Tech  Spalding

Haley Walker                            Jim Mitchell                   Criminal Justice            Spalding

Amber Barfield                          Karla Weaver                Accounting                    Upson

Hailey Knight                            Michael Cook                Business Management  Upson