20 Students Selected as GOAL Nominees

Date Posted: February 9, 2021

Southern Crescent Technical College recently announced the nomination of 20 students for the 2021 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL).  The annual GOAL program recognizes students who possess excellence in leadership and ability.

“The purpose of the GOAL program,” said Ms. Cherryl Burks, GOAL Coordinator, “is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia’s technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce.”  The local GOAL winner will speak on behalf of Southern Crescent Technical College to promote technical education throughout the community and state.

A screening committee at Southern Crescent Technical College will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students.  Finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the Southern Crescent Technical College GOAL winner for 2021.

The finalists will take part in another round of interviews and evaluations by representatives from local business and industry. That panel will consider the students’ qualities including academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional preliminary judging; then three from each region, which will make up the nine finalists, will attend competition for the state GOAL award and selection as the Technical College System of Georgia’s 2021 student of the year where they will have the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system.

Chosen for recognition by their instructors, the nominees from Southern Crescent Technical College include:

Name Program Nominating Instructor County
Talaya Jackson Medical Assisting Milling Belvin Clayton
Shaunika Ross Medical Assisting Milling Belvin Clayton
Isabella Basinger Business Technology Karla Weaver Fayette
Caitlin Byne Culinary Arts Carolyn Fludd Fayette
Marinda Wilson Culinary Arts Carolyn Fludd Fayette
Mirabahn Cairobe Medical Assisting Mettie Hogan Henry
Elena Cohn Industrial Systems Johnny Dodson Henry
Beulah Floyd Automotive Technology Wade Finch Henry
Karah Longino Medical Assisting Sandra Fender Henry
Ryan Lyles Culinary Arts Patrick Boutier Henry
Baizchone Moten Medical Assisting Mettie Hogan Henry
Alexander Smith Early College Essential Brittany Varga Henry
Jennifer Landry Medical Assisting Christy Allen Pike
Devon Fairorth Nursing Debra King Spalding
Kimberly Johnson-Burnett Medical Assisting Christy Allen Spalding
Laura Morgan Medical Assisting Sandra Fender Spalding
Jamesha Williams Medical Assisting Mettie Hogan Spalding
Chelsee Best Medical Assisting Christy Allen Upson
William Hendon Business Management Karla Weaver Upson
Tabitha Nelson Medical Assisting Sandra Fender Upson