Southern Crescent Technical College Announces GOAL Final Four

Date Posted: November 16, 2023

Four students from Southern Crescent Technical College have been selected as local finalists for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), according to Cherryl Burks, coordinator for the local GOAL program.  These students were announced Tuesday afternoon, November 14, 2023, at a GOAL Recognition Luncheon held on the Griffin Campus.

Chosen as finalists are:  Jerusha Chung – Associate of Science in Nursing, nominated by Gayla Love; Tiara Chappell – Medical Assisting, nominated by Mettie Hogan, and Valarie Mahabeer – Business Technology, nominated by Karla Weaver, and Savannah Payton – Associate of Science in Nursing, nominated by Amy Adams.

The Technical College System of Georgia sponsors the GOAL program statewide.  Locally, GOAL is sponsored by the Griffin-Spalding Chamber of Commerce, the Griffin Exchange Club, the Griffin Area Employer Committee, and the SCTC Student Government Association and coordinated by officials from Southern Crescent Technical College.

“The GOAL program,” said Burks, “seeks to spotlight the importance of technical education in today’s world and to recognize outstanding achievement by students in our state’s technical colleges.”

According to Burks, the Screening Committee of administrators at Southern Crescent Technical College selected the four finalists from 19 students who were nominated for this recognition by their instructors.  Prior to being named as a finalist, these students completed an extensive interview process to prepare them for the state competition to be held in April.

“A Selection Committee of individuals from outside the school will now interview and evaluate these four students,” explained Burks “and the one judged most outstanding will compete with representatives from Georgia’s other technical colleges for the 2024 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership medallion.”

The student, who is selected as the State GOAL Winner by demonstrating excellence in leadership, will receive the grand prize of a new automobile.